Falling

“Don’t dwell on what went wrong. Instead, focus on what to do next. Spend your energies on moving forward toward finding the answer” – Dennis Waitley

Despite having an almost perfect interview and meeting I missed out on a pretty decent job today by what was said to be ‘a very fine line’. This is frustrating, irritating and somewhat disheartening. Many things played to my advantage which would have assisted my role quite significantly and even a few things which would have complimented it nicely too. However these seemed to not be enough to push past that supposed ‘fine line’ and I had that dreaded rejection call early today.

After many, many rejections and non-replies it does begin to become tedious and it does begin to eat away at your patience and motivation. I’m still a student but I have realised the reluctance of many to take on a student or someone who may be seen as young. I’ve also noticed that many employers might see students as not competent for the role in question or just want down and out experience in any given field – yet no one will give you that experience without fighting for it.

20140213-202606.jpg
Anyway, back to the job hunt and back to square one I suppose. I don’t like square one, I feel suffocated in this part time job I’m in and I want to be somewhere more professional and interesting. Hopefully my luck changes for the better soon. It’s interesting that my Q & A journal asked the following question:

“What is your biggest obstacle?”

It’s strange that this was the question asked on the day before I was to find out the results of the application. So, my biggest obstacle? I would say the answer is probably either my confidence or just life in general. I haven’t written my answer down just yet.

Bye for now.

Share your thoughts

