A short thought.

A somewhat serious post today. Just merely food for thought, motivation, inspiration or determination. I came across this quote recently:

“The ultimate measure of a man is not where he stands in moments of comfort, but where he stands at times of challenge and controversy”
– Martin Luther King, Jr.

This does some up every worry that I have, or used to have. At moments of comfort is our true skill or ability really accessible or even displayable? It isn’t, I could rattle on about the law for the fun of it all day. Place me in a situation of challenge and controversy however and to me that’s where a persons ability is shown and utilised to its fullest. To me these are the situations where one must adapt, learn and overcome and this shows the extent of ones capabilities.

Even the shy or unconfident people can overcome times of challenge. They may not believe they can but I feel anyone can so long as they put their mind to it. I didn’t think I had a chance of getting far with law – let alone becoming a lawyer. Now I am a few steps away, why? Simply because people helped me and gave me that motivation and confidence and I placed myself in challenging situations in order to better myself. If you find courage to make a move, a change, a crucial decision – then you will find your capabilities waiting underneath that disbelief.

I’m not trying to preach here, nor am I trying to create a speech. I am trying to cause people to think and to act where they may not have before. Sure people are ‘naturals’ at it but many others are not. The above quote will make you think and hopefully make some realise. Lack of self confidence and belief can leave you without some of the things you desire.

Think about it.

Bye for now.

Share your thoughts

